Nemedian Dispatches 2011 – No. 1

This is the first 2011 post of the online version of Nemedian Dispatches. This feature previously appeared in the print journal until I moved it to the website last year. On a quarterly basis, Nemedian Dispatches will highlight new and upcoming appearances of Howard’s fiction in print, as well as Howard in other types of media.

In Print:

Tales of Weird Menace & Steve Harrison’s Casebook
Orders for these two volumes from the REH Foundation press are in the process of being shipped. The first editions of both books are sold out, however second editions are at the printers and will ship at the end of this month or the early part of April. You can order these great collections through the Foundation’s website.

“So Far The Poet…”
Rob Roehm has assembled a comprehensive volume of material by Tevis Clyde Smith.  This volume is an expanded version of Necronomicon Press’ Report on a Writing Man that adds a ton of additional material, including all the known Smith material from The All-Around Magazine, The Junto, The Tattler, plus a few other publications. All of the stories co-authored by Howard and Smith are also included.

Thrilling Mystery – June 1936
This facsimile pulp is now available from Adventure House. The 128 page magazine features Howard’s weird menace story ”Black Wind Blowing,” plus other stories by John H. Knox, Henry Kuttner, Richard Tooker, O.M. Cabral, Arthur J. Burks, Wayne Rogers and Hugh B. Cave.

Sword Woman and Other Historical Adventures
Del Rey’s collection of Robert E. Howard’s historical adventures that features the legendary swordswoman Dark Agnes is now in book stores. In addition to Dark Agnes, Howard’s tales of his grimmest hero, Cormac Fitzgeoffrey are also included in the volume. All the stories in this book have been restored to the earliest, most definitive version available today. Illustrated by John Watkiss.

Almuric
A new trade paperback edition of the often reprinted REH planetary adventure was recently published by Wildside Press, sporting a cheesy computer generated cover.

Conan’s Brethren
After several delays, this volume finally appeared last month. The collection contains a number of PD stories featuring Howard characters King Kull, Bran Mak Morn Solomon Kane and Cormac Fitzgeoffrey. Available through Amazon.com.

Coming Soon:

A Means to Freedom
Due out later this month from Hippocampus Press is a trade paperback edition of the two volume set of correspondence between H. P. Lovecraft and Robert E. Howard. The hard cover edition, which appeared in August 2009, quickly sold out and is a much sought after collector’s item. This is a limited edition of 1000 copies, edited by Rusty Burke, S. T. Joshi and David E. Schultz.

Damballa
In the tradition of The Shadow and The Spider, Charles Saunders, author of Imaro has created an African American pulp hero named Damballa. This cloaked avenger stalks the streets of 1930s New York City using both ancient African wisdom and modern science to mete out his own form of justice. Airship 27 Productions is the publisher and the book is due out soon.

The Horror Stories of Robert E. Howard
We are still waiting for Subterranean Press to publish this luxury hardcover edition of the Del Rey edition. Purportedly the book is back from the printer, but due to a backlog of books to be shipped, it has been delayed. The Subterranean volume will include a number of previously unpublished color plates by artist Greg Staples.

Robert E. Howard’s Savage Sword #2
The second issue of this comic featuring Howard’s heroes in new adventures and restored, re-colored reprints of classic tales will be available in late May. This issue will feature Conan, El Borak, Dark Agnes, Sailor Steve Costigan, other Howard characters, and Roy Thomas and Gil Kane’s long-out-of-print classic, “The Valley of the Worm.”

Robert E. Howard: The Battle for the Legacy of Conan
This is another volume that has been long delayed, but now slated for July – just in time for the new Conan film.  It covers the fight for the legacy of Howard, who would own Howard’s work and who would profit by divorcing the Texas writer from his most famous creation, Conan the Cimmerian. Featuring a large number of illustrations, the book details the backroom deals, backstabbing, and general skulduggery by de Camp and others.